Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Heart on Fire by Amanda Bouchet

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


Heart on Fire by Amanda Bouchet
Publisher: Piatkus
Publication date: 01/02/2018
The riveting conclusion to the Kingmaker Chronicles, available January 2018!

Who is Catalia Fisa?
With the help of pivotal figures from her past, Cat begins to understand the root of her exceptional magic, her fated union with Griffin Sinta, and Griffin's role in shaping her destiny.

Only Cat holds the key to unlocking her own power, and that means finally accepting herself, her past, and her future in order to protect her loved ones, confront her murderous mother, and taking a final, terrifying step--reuniting all three realms and taking her place as the Queen of Thalyria.

What doesn't kill her will only make her stronger...we hope.
This series is one of my favorites. I just can't say enough about how much I love this series.  The first 2 books earned high praise from me. You can check out my review of the first book, A Promise of Fire here.

So this is my pick. What are you waiting for?


Monday, June 19, 2017

Release Day Rave: (6/18/17 - 6/24/17)

Where are all my fellow book junkies? It's that time again as we count down the hours in hopes of getting our hands on highly anticipated books on release day. I know I can't wait to cuddle up with some of these books! I've compiled the following list of books that are scheduled to be released this week. I'll put my top five and try to review at least one of them by the end of the week or the following week.


What new releases are you chomping at the bits for?

Click on the book title to take you to Goodreads.

It looks like the majority of the books I can't wait to read will be released next week but there are 2 that I should be able to knock out this week.

Tycoon by Katy Evans (6/20/17)
I can't wait to read this one. I'm a huge fan of Katy's books.


The Knocked Up Plan  by Lauren Blakely (6/23/17)
There are three little words most guys don’t want to hear on the first date. Not those…I mean these… “knock me up.” LOL. I can't wait to read this one!


Song of the Current (Song of the Current, #1) by Sarah Tolcser (6/6/17)
This one sounds really interesting. Caroline Oresteia is destined for the river. For generations, her family has been called by the river god, who has guided their wherries on countless voyages throughout the Riverlands. At seventeen, Caro has spent years listening to the water, ready to meet her fate. But the river god hasn’t spoken her name yet—and if he hasn’t by now, there’s a chance he never will.


Friday, June 16, 2017

Spotlight: When Life Happened by Jewel E. Ann



When Life Happened by Jewel E. Ann
Publisher: Jewel E. Ann
Publication date: 06/05/2017
Parker Cruse despises cheaters. It might have something to do with her boyfriend sleeping with her twin sister. 
After a wedding day prank involving a strong laxative, that ends the already severed relationship between the twins, Parker decides to grow up and act twenty-six. 

Step One: Move out of her parents’ house. 

Step Two: Find a job. 

Opportunity strikes when she meets her new neighbor, Gus Westman. He’s an electrician with Iowa farm-boy values and a gift for saying her name like it’s a dirty word. 

He also has a wife. 
Sabrina Westman, head of a successful engineering firm, hires Parker as her personal assistant. Driven to be the best assistant ever, Parker vows to stay focused, walk the dog, go to the dry cleaners, and not kiss Gus—again.

Step Three: Don’t judge. 

Step Four: Remember— when life happens, it does it in a heartbeat.
"Thou shall not covet thy neighbor's husband."  This book was so unexpected and I couldn't have imagined where Parker's life would have taken her just by reading the synopsis. I loved everything about this book. It gave me all the feels that I look for in books in this genre. Once I started, it was impossible to see where Parker's journey would take her. I laughed, I cried, and I was angry too.  This book is everything!

I love this book that I had to give it a spotlight so readers can delve in and take notice of the wonderfully, amazing  journey, and surprises that this book throws at you. If you're ready to be wrapped up in a book that holds on til the very end then look no further, this book has it all.

You can read an exclusive of chapter one here.


Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars