Thursday, April 23, 2015

Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey


THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT (The Girl at Midnight, #1)  by Melissa Grey
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 4/28/2015
Pages: 368
Age range: 14 - 17 Years
Source: Publisher
For readers of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo'sShadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she's fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it's time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it's how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren't as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.
First off, let me just start with the first sentence in the overview of The Girl at Midnight:: For readers of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bonethat’s some bait!  I didn’t just take it, I gobbled it up! In my opinion it was spot on. This book reminded me why I fell in love with the aforementioned books as I tore through the pages of this magical tale.

The characters are unique in their own right and that’s what I loved most about The Girl at Midnight. Here you have two ancient species at war and a human caught smack-dab in the middle. And she’s not some timid mortal, Echo is kick-ass - just the way I love my heroines. This book is full of witty dialogue and glorious male specimens. The world building is spectacular and full of intrigue. I couldn’t get enough of it!

Every doorway led to a new adventure for Echo and I was right there alongside her as she maneuvered her way into the unknown. This book is a great start to an exciting new series and I believe fans of Sara J. Maas’s Throne of Glass and Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone will enjoy this book too!

Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: End of Days (Penryn & the End of Days #3) by Susan Ee

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.



END OF DAYS (Penryn & he End of Days #3) by Susan Ee
Publisher: Amazon Childrens Publishing
Publication date: 05/12/2015
Series: Penryn & the End of Days Series , #2
Age range: 14 - 17 Years
End of Days is the explosive conclusion to Susan Ee’s bestselling Penryn & the End of Days trilogy. After a daring escape from the angels, Penryn and Raffe are on the run. They’re both desperate to find a doctor who can reverse the twisted changes inflicted by the angels on Raffe and Penryn’s sister. As they set off in search of answers, a startling revelation about Raffe’s past unleashes dark forces that threaten them all.
When the angels release an apocalyptic nightmare onto humans, both sides are set on a path toward war. As unlikely alliances form and strategies shift, who will emerge victorious? Forced to pick sides in the fight for control of the earthly realm, Raffe and Penryn must choose: Their own kind, or each other?

 A highly entertaining world filled with unforgettable characters, I'll be sad to see this series end as it was one of those series that caught me by surprise. Susan Ee will be an automatic buy for me with whatever she writes next.

So this is my pick. What are you waiting for?

Monday, April 20, 2015

What's to come...

I wanted to share some updates about what's  to come on Fantastic Book Review. I'll be bringing Monday Madness back which included: Author interviews, reviews, guest posts, and contests. I'm probably only going to host two per month. I'm so excited but it may be June before I start the feature. As you know these things take time and preparation. I'll also be bringing Book Chatter back!

I'm excited about a new feature called Most Anticipated Read where I'll be featuring the most anticipated book of the month. I will also host a contest for one lucky winner to pick the book that they can't wait to get their hands on.

Stay tuned....  
 

Blog Design by twoscoopz{design} based on the Minibox Template by James William.