Friday, May 26, 2017

Review: Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh


Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Series: Flame in the Mist, #1
Publication date: 05/16/2017
The only daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has always known she’d been raised for one purpose and one purpose only: to marry. Never mind her cunning, which rivals that of her twin brother, Kenshin, or her skills as an accomplished alchemist. Since Mariko was not born a boy, her fate was sealed the moment she drew her first breath.

So, at just seventeen years old, Mariko is sent to the imperial palace to meet her betrothed, a man she did not choose, for the very first time. But the journey is cut short when Mariko’s convoy is viciously attacked by the Black Clan, a dangerous group of bandits who’ve been hired to kill Mariko before she reaches the palace.

The lone survivor, Mariko narrowly escapes to the woods, where she plots her revenge. Dressed as a peasant boy, she sets out to infiltrate the Black Clan and hunt down those responsible for the target on her back. Once she’s within their ranks, though, Mariko finds for the first time she’s appreciated for her intellect and abilities. She even finds herself falling in love—a love that will force her to question everything she’s ever known about her family, her purpose, and her deepest desires.
Flame in the Mist was one of my most anticipated reads of this year and I'm so thrilled that it lived up to my expectations. It's one of those books that grabs hold right from the start and never lets up. I enjoyed reading about Mariko's journey at times treacherous as she tried to navigate in the unknown to find answers behind the plot of her death.

I'm glad that this book provided insight with some of the main characters as I like Mariko wasn't sure who to trust. I'm a fan of the world that Renee Ahdieh created. Richly imagined and beautifully written, I couldn't get enough of this book.

I can say without a doubt that I can't wait to see where this series leads. I couldn't have imagined how the events in this story unfolded but I'm so excited to see where they lead. The plot thickens! The ending was something that caught me completely by surprise.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Stars



Order FLAME IN THE MIST




Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Gray Wolf Island by Tracey Neithercott

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.



Gray Wolf Island by Tracey Neithercott
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication date: 10/10/2017
Right before Sadie died, she begged her sister, Ruby, to do the one thing she could never do herself: Find the treasure on Gray Wolf Island.

With just a mysterious treasure map as a guide, Ruby reluctantly allows some friends to join her on the hunt, each of whom is touched by magic: a boy allegedly born to a virgin, a girl who never sleeps, a boy who can foresee his own death, and a boy with deep ties to the island. Each of them is also keeping a secret—something they’ll have to reveal in order to reach the treasure.

As the secrets come to light, Ruby will have to decide: Can she make peace with her friends’ troubled pasts and continue to trust them? Can she forgive herself for doing the unspeakable? Deep in the wilderness of Gray Wolf Island, Ruby’s choices will determine if they make it out with the treasure—or merely with their lives.

From debut author Tracey Neithercott comes a darkly compelling tale of profound friendship, adventure, and finding the strength to tell the truth.
This book sounds like it's going to be full of danger and adventure. It's right up my alley!

So this is my pick. What are you waiting for?


Monday, May 22, 2017

Release Day Rave: (5/21/17 - 5/27/17)

**It's a slow week so this gives me plenty of time to read  more books before some of my most anticipated for next week. **

Where are all my fellow book junkies? It's that time again as we count down the hours in hopes of getting our hands on highly anticipated books on release day. I know I can't wait to cuddle up with some of these books! I've compiled the following list of books that are scheduled to be released this week. I'll put my top five and try to review at least one of them by the end of the week or the following week.

What new releases are you chomping at the bits for?

Click on the book title to take you to Goodreads.

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2) by Cassandra Clare (5/23/17)
Guys, I still have to catch up. I need to finish reading City of Heavenly Fire before I start this series.